Urging our nation's leaders to end hunger
print this page

Bread for the World Congratulates 2013 World Food Prize Laureates

Washington, DC, June 20, 2013

At the U.S. Department of State yesterday, Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize, announced that Marc Van Montagu of Belgium, and Mary-Dell Chilton and Robert T. Fraley of the United States will be this year’s World Food Prize recipients. The award is presented annually to individuals whose work improves the quality, quantity, or availability of food.

Rev. David Beckmann, president of Bread for the World, congratulated the 2013 Food Prize winners:

“Drs. Van Montagu’s, Chilton’s, and Fraley‘s innovations enable us to feed more hungry people around the world. The work of these three scientists has led to the evolution of higher-yielding crops that can resist insects, disease, and extreme climate. Our increased ability to produce and maintain new types of crops will help farmers harvest food in an increasingly unpredictable climate.

“While our goal is to eradicate hunger right now, there will be a large demand for food in the future because of projected increases in population. The discoveries of each laureate will help prevent widespread hunger by helping to create a more sustainable food supply.

“We thank these individuals for their hard work.”

Rev. David Beckmann and Jo Luck of Heifer International were the co-winners of the World Food Prize in 2010.

Bread for the World is a collective Christian voice urging our nation's decision makers to end hunger at home and abroad.

Media Contact:

Christopher Ford, Media Relations Manager, 202-688-1077


Fito Moreno, Media Relations Specialist, 202-688-1138


Next press release:

U.S.-Africa Trade Bill Passes Congress

Washington, DC, June 26, 2015 – Bread for the World applauds the 10-year extension of the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA), which passed yesterday in Congress. Read more »

Connect with Us

Bread for the World