Board of Directors

  • Board of Directors

    Katherine Pringle

    Chair of the Board

    Kate Pringle is Partner, Litigation Department, at Freidman, Kaplan, Seiler, & Adelman, LLP, where she advises the firm on matters of conflicts and ethics.

  • Board of Directors

    Mike Goorhouse

    Treasurer of the Board

    Mike Goorhouse is President and CEO of the Community Foundation of the Holland/Zeeland Area.

  • Board of Directors

    Heather Hardinger

    Vice Chair of the Board

    Heather Hardinger is director of workforce strategy and programs at Taney County Partnership, a public-private partnership for economic development in southwest Missouri. 

  • Board of Directors

    Carlos Malavé

    Secretary of the Board

    Rev. Carlos Malavé is executive director of Christian Churches Together in the USA, an ecumenical forum of churches and Christian organizations from all the families of U.S. Christianity.

  • Board of Directors

    Victor Adamo

    Vic Adamo is a community volunteer and retired president of ProAssurance Corporation. 

  • Board of Directors

    Edith Avila Olea

    Edith Avila Olea is policy manager for the Illinois Coalition for Immigrant & Refugee Rights.

  • Board of Directors

    Doug Beacham

    Bishop Doug Beacham is general superintendent of the International Pentecostal Holiness Church. 

  • Board of Directors

    Beth Bostrom

    Rev. Beth Bostrom is director of spiritual formation and chaplain at Metropolitan Ministries, which addresses homelessness through prevention services and self-sufficiency shelter programs. Bostrom chairs the board’s Governance Committee.

  • Board of Directors

    John Carr

    John Carr is the founder and director of the Initiative on Catholic Social Thought and Public Life at Georgetown University. 

  • Board of Directors

    Richard Coll

    Richard Coll is director of the office of domestic social development for the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. 

  • Board of Directors

    Chris Coons

    Senator Chris Coons (D-DE) is an honorary member of Bread for the World’s board of directors. 

  • Board of Directors

    Bob Dole

    Senator Bob Dole is the former majority leader of the U.S. Senate and former Republican candidate for president of the United States. 

  • Board of Directors

    Jeremy Everett

    Jeremy Everett is the founder and executive director of the Texas Hunger Initiative, a capacity-building, anti-hunger project within Baylor University.

  • Board of Directors

    Claire Gholston

    Claire Gholston is a Bread for the World activist. 

  • Board of Directors

    Jeffrey Haggray

    Dr. Jeffrey Haggray is executive director of the American Baptist Churches Home Mission Society.

  • Board of Directors

    Tom Hart

    Tom Hart is North American executive director of ONE.

  • Board of Directors

    John Hendrix

    ​John Hendrix is a managing director in the Financial Services Investment Banking Group at Piper Sandler & Co.

  • Board of Directors

    Susan Henry-Crowe

    Rev. Susan Henry-Crowe is general secretary of the General Board of Church and Society of the United Methodist Church. 

  • Board of Directors

    Kate Howe

    Kate Howe is executive director of the Indy Hunger Network and a leader of Bread's Central Indiana Leadership Team. 

  • Board of Directors

    Lawrence Kirby, II

    Rev. Lawrence L. Kirby, II is pastor of The Acts Church of Kenosha.

  • Board of Directors

    Jo Anne Lyon

    Rev. Dr. Jo Anne Lyon is Ambassador of the Wesleyan Church.

  • Board of Directors

    Allison Mark

    Rev. Allison Mark is senior pastor of Faith United Methodist Church in Torrance, California.

  • Board of Directors

    Jim McGovern

    Representative Jim McGovern (D-MA) is House Hunger Caucus Co-Chair.

  • Board of Directors

    Mariam Mengistie

    Mariam Mengistie is Executive Director of Missions at St. Luke's United Methodist Church in Orlando, Florida. 

  • Board of Directors

    Beverly Mitchell

    Dr. Beverly Mitchell is professor of Historical Theology at Wesley Theological Seminary. 

  • Board of Directors

    William Moore

    William Moore is executive director of The Eleanor Crook Foundation.

  • Board of Directors

    Jerry Moran

    Senator Jerry Moran is U.S. Senator from Kansas.

  • Board of Directors

    Carol Myers

    ​Carol Myers has been a Bread supporter since 1975. In a previous term on Bread’s board, she served as vice chair and on a committee to establish the endowment.

  • Board of Directors

    Dawn Pierce

    Dawn Pierce is a licensed practical nurse and certified hospice and palliative care licensed nurse. She is a community advocate who makes the connection between hunger and health in a personal way.

  • Board of Directors

    Frank Madison Reid, III

    The Right Rev. Frank Madison Reid III is the ecumenical officer for the African Methodist Episcopal Church as well as Presiding Prelate of the Third Episcopal District, serving as Bishop for Ohio, West Virginia, and the western part of Pennsylvania. 

  • Board of Directors

    Amy Reumann

    Rev. Amy Reumann is Director of Advocacy for the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

  • Board of Directors

    Joyce Rothermel

    Joyce Rothermel is a community activist. She co-chairs the SW PA Bread for the World chapter, brings groups to Bread 's June Advocacy Summits, and provides advice to Institute research.

  • Board of Directors

    Art Simon

    President emeritus and founder

    Rev. Art Simon is president emeritus and founder of Bread for the World.

  • Board of Directors

    Frances Simpson Allen

    Frances Simpson-Allen is Programme Management Officer in the Office of the Secretary-General's Envoy on Youth at the United Nations.

  • Board of Directors

    Fernando Tamara

    Rev. Fernando Tamara is pastor of Hispanic Ministries at Orange County First Assembly. 

  • Board of Directors

    Bob Terry

    Dr. Bobby S. Terry served for 23 years as president and editor of The Alabama Baptist. 

  • Board of Directors

    Sharon Thornberry

    ​Sharon Thornberry is rural communities liaison at Columbia Gorge Food Bank.

  • Board of Directors

    Al Tizon

    Rev. Dr. Al Tizon is Executive Minister of Serve Globally, the international ministries arm of the Evangelical Covenant Church.

  • Board of Directors

    James Walker

    James B. Walker is Presiding Bishop of the Seventh Episcopal District of the Christian Methodist Episcopal (CME) Church.

  • Board of Directors

    Kate Weaver

    ​Kate Weaver is associate professor of public affairs at the University of Texas’s Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs. 

from our Resource Library

For Education

For Faith

For Advocacy


African at Heart

November 22, 2019


From the Blog

Hope in the new year

January 12, 2022